Nothing is Nothing, but also Something

Do you ever sit at your computer screen and wonder how in the hell do you write something genuine?  This is lit-trally (gold stars if you get this reference) my third attempt at writing a post. THIRD TIME PEOPLE. THREE. TRES. *INSERT NUMBER THREE IN ANOTHER LANGUAGE HERE*

literally

I have deleted two full posts and now I sit here fuming as I type, hoping that I am coming across as a genuine, real human being and not a blog robot writer. Not that most bloggers are robot writers, I just always feel like I am when I’m writing on more serious topics.

So the question is, how can we be more genuine when writing? Do we change our writing style to match the way we talk? Do we tell sad and depressing stories about horrible times in our life? Do we talk about how our pixie cut makes us feel like we are wearing a bowl on our heads? DO WE?

Obviously this post is going no-where fast.

BUT……

kya2zaN

Maybe that’s the point. Maybe the no-where is exactly where we need to be. Maybe being genuine is telling a bunch of strangers that you have no idea how to say what you want right now, so instead you’re writing about your insecurities. Maybe being able to talk about noting, really is . . . something.

Maybe all this nothing has meant more to me than so many . . . somethings.

Or maybe I’m just quoting Meg Ryan in You’ve Got Mail.

BzNAMBO

Either way, today’s post is a post about nothing much like Seinfeld was a show about nothing. Today I shall embrace the nothingness in life because nothingness is honest, its real, its life affirming.  Nothing is in fact nothing and sometimes nothing is genuine.

Why is it genuine? Sometimes nothing expresses our true selves more than a million somethings. Sitting in silence with a close friend after something terrible happens can be more meaningful than a hundred, “it will be okays.” Gazing at the stars for the sake of gazing can mean more than to a person than understanding why we are able to star at the stars in the first place.

In moments of nothingness we can be most human. In moments of nothingness we can be who we really are. Nothingness does not ask us to be anyone or anything, it only requires that we are present.

Maybe writing about nothing is the key to helping someone understand how to be more genuine without fear of judgment. Maybe being more genuine is just not worrying about what others think at all.

Or maybe I really am just talking about nothing.

4 thoughts on “Nothing is Nothing, but also Something

  1. I don’t have the slightest idea of how many “bloggers” are out there but it’s always a pleasure to find a gem amongst the “nothings”.
    I’m glad I stopped by.

  2. Whatever you do, don’t write about sad stuff, personal problems, depressing things that happened to you or people you love . . . you’ll draw people who’ll be more than happy to both feed on your misery, and feed you more misery.

    Genuine is a myth, by the way . . . we present ourselves as we want others to see us, and sometimes as others want to see us.

    Genuine is not caring about either; hard to do, but if you work on it, it gets easier.

    . . . start with stuff you like . . . what made you smile, what you remember from last week, last month; things that are part of your memory without you having made the effort to put them there.

    • I’ve written in a previous blog about heavier subjects and I have found that people can be positive and encouraging. I think it comes down to how you choose to write about sad things. Are you going to let the sad things defeat you and show in your writing or are you going to show how you defeated the sad things?

      To me being genuine is about being vulnerable and exposing our deep dark inner corners. Maybe I’m wrong and maybe that’s just the kind of writer I’ve grown to be. I definitely agree that being genuine is about not caring, which is what I am trying to do. I used to worry about my writing about how it came off to others and then I realized that I had to be happy with it first. Be who you are, write how you write.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment! I enjoyed reading your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

